Department of Physics

February 16, 1922 is the data of Kaunas University of Technology, Department of Physics origin. Professor V. Čepinskis was appointed as the Head of the Department. The department of Physics with all staff (except one assistant) and the material base was transferred to the Department of Physics of KPI in 1950 when Kaunas University (formerly the University of Vytautas Magnus) was transformed into Kaunas Institute of Technology (KPI) and Kaunas Medical Institute. KPI has been renamed into Kaunas University of Technology (KTU) during the study and education reforms in 1990. Current KTU Department of Physics remained as a single unit at Kaunas University of technology.

First cycle (bachelor’s) degree programs are appointed to develop general knowledge, to convey theoretical studies background and form necessary for independent work professional skills. University degree programs are oriented towards universal basic of education, academic preparation and the highest level of professional skills.

Bachelor’s degree:

Master’s degree:

PhD studies:

Research groups:

  • Research of Non-equilibrium Heterogeneous Processes prof. habil. dr. Arvaidas Galdikas, Principal Investigator
  • Radiation and Medical Physics prof. dr. Diana Adlienė, Principal Investigator
  • Formation, Research and Application of Multifunctional Thin Structures and Nanocomposites prof. dr. Giedrius Laukaitis, Principal Investigator
  • Applied Optics and Photonics lekt. dr. Tomas Tamulevičius, Principal Investigator

History of Physics Department (1990-2018)

The First Graduate students of Physics Master Program (1995-06-27)

The Supreme Council declared the restoration of Lithuania Act on March 11, 1990. Reorganization of different institutions was held after Lithuania regained independence. Lithuanian higher education institutions were not left besides historical events. Movement group was also established at Kaunas Polytechnic Institute, where actively participated the employees of the Department of Physics: Doc. A. Tamašauskas, researcher A. Meškauskas, senior lecturer A. Žiulpa, researcher dr. A. Batulevičius and others. Researcher of integrated circuits laboratory at Physics Department Dr. A. Batulevičius was elected to the first Kaunas City Council, supported by the Movement in April 13, 1990.

  • Thin film technologies
  • Hydrogen energy solutions
  • Plasmochemical technologies
  • Optical non-destructive testing methods
  • Dosimetry, radiation and medical physics
  • Optical components and sensors, applications in measurement systems
  • Medical equipment development solutions

Student participation in research activities (2020-2021 m.)

Projects funded by EU Structural Funds according to the 2014–2020 Operational Programme for the European Union Funds’ Investments priority “Development of scientific competence of scientists, other researchers, students through practical scientific activities” under grant No. 09.3.3-LMT-K-712.

  1. 3.3-LMT-K-712-22-0132 Zno Nanoparticles for New Generation Anti-Reflective Coatings and their Optical Property Investigation, dr. Simas Račkauskas (2020-11-03-2021-04-30)
  2. 3.3-LMT-K-712-22-0089 Development of Simplified Physical Phantom Prototype to Simulate Different Biological Tissues and its Use in Clinical Practice, assoc. Prof. dr. Jurgita Laurikaitienė (2020-11-03-2021-04-30)
  3. 3.3-LMT-K-712-22-0144 Determination of Laser-induced Damage Threshold for Nanocomposite Coatings Doped with Light Absorbing Metal Nanoparticles (LIPS), assoc. prof. dr. Asta Tamulevičienė (2020-11-03-2021-04-30)
  4. 3.3-LMT-K-712-22-0080 Development of Light-absorbing Surfaces Based on Nanocomposite Thin Films with Embedded Plasmonic Metal Nanoparticles (PlasmoComposite), prof. dr. Tomas Tamulevičius (2020-11-03-2021-04-30)
  5. 3.3-LMT-K-712-22-0121 Development of a System for the Evaluation of an External Hand Exposure of Nuclear Medicine Personnel (BRANDUOLYS) (ABRAMED), prof. dr. Diana Adlienė (2020-11-03-2021-04-30)


Lena Gertrūda Cibulskytė

Studentų str. 50–243 kab., Kaunas
phone: 8 37 300 339
mobile: +370 619 42 426 ,



Prof. Diana Adlienė

Head of Department

Studentų g. 50, Kaunas 51369
phone: +370 (37)300 340, +370 612 08716


Name / Surname Adress Phone E-mail
prof. dr. Diana Adlienė Studentų str. 50–251 kab. +370 612 08716
prof. habil. dr. Arvaidas Galdikas Studentų str. 50–264 kab. +370 616 54520
prof. dr. Giedrius Laukaitis Studentų str. 50–243 kab. +370 37 300 340
prof. dr. Liutauras Marcinauskas Studentų str. 50–249 kab. +370 611 17031
prof. habil. dr. Sigitas Tamulevičius Studentų str. 50–243 kab. +370 686 12300
prof. dr. Tomas Tamulevičius Studentų str. 50–243 kab.
prof. dr. Audrius Alkauskas Studentų str. 50–256 b kab.

Guest proffesors

Name / Surname Adress E-mail
prof. dr. Žilvinas Rinkevičius Studentų str. 50–260 kab.
prof. dr. Artūras Vailionis Studentų str. 50–243 kab.

Professors emeritus

Name / Surname Adress Phone E-mail
prof. habil. dr. Julius Dudonis Studentų str. 50–116 kab. +370 612 55684
prof. habil. dr. Alfonsas Grigonis Studentų str. 50–115 kab. +370 616 28795

Associate Professors

Name / Surname Adress Phone E-mail
assoc. prof. dr.  Brigita Abakevičienė Studentų str. 50–229 kab. +370 686 07546
assoc. prof. dr. Kristina Bočkutė Studentų str. 50–248 kab.
assoc. prof. dr.  Jurgita Čyvienė Studentų str. 50–229 kab. +370 620 23695
assoc. prof. dr. Aleksandras Iljinas Studentų str. 50–258 kab. +370 615 23668
assoc. prof. dr. Leonas Jakevičius Studentų str. 50–227 kab. +370 618 68466 leonas.jakevič
assoc. prof. dr. Jurgita Laurikaitienė Studentų str. 50–235 kab.
assoc. prof. dr. Darius Virbukas Studentų str. 50–248 kab. +370 656 39789
assoc. prof. dr. Judita Puišo Studentų str. 50–227 kab. +370 610 04812
assoc. prof. dr. Linas Puodžiukynas Studentų str. 50–259 kab. +370 698 24161
assoc. prof. dr. Živilė Rutkūnienė Studentų str. 50–249 kab. +370 686 54543
assoc. prof. dr. Vytautas Stankus Studentų str. 50–258 kab. +370 610 33946
assoc. prof. dr. Teresa Moskaliovienė Studentų str. 50–264 kab. +370 674 02556
assoc. prof. dr. Benas Gabrielis Urbonavičius Studentų g. 48A-245 kab. +370 37 300 777


Name / Surname Adress Phone E-mail
dr. Marius Kaminskas Studentų str. 50–256 b kab. +370 676 32308
dr. Rimantas Knizikevičius Studentų str. 50–228 kab. +370 685 24054
dr. Mantas Sriubas Studentų str. 50–260 kab.


Name / Surname Pareigos Adress Phone El-mail
Lena Gertrūda Cibulskytė Administrator Studentų str. 50–243 kab. +370 619 42426
Zenonas Šleinius Academic Assistant / Laboratory Assistant Studentų str. 50–231 kab. +370 614 76103
We are using cookies to provide statistics that help us give you the best experience of our site. You can find out more or switch them off if you prefer. However, by continuing to use the site without changing settings, you are agreeing to our use of cookies.
I agree