Department of Physics

February 16, 1922 is the data of Kaunas University of Technology, Department of Physics origin. Professor V. Čepinskis was appointed as the Head of the Department. The department of Physics with all staff (except one assistant) and the material base was transferred to the Department of Physics of KPI in 1950 when Kaunas University (formerly the University of Vytautas Magnus) was transformed into Kaunas Institute of Technology (KPI) and Kaunas Medical Institute. KPI has been renamed into Kaunas University of Technology (KTU) during the study and education reforms in 1990. Current KTU Department of Physics remained as a single unit at Kaunas University of technology.

First cycle (bachelor’s) degree programs are appointed to develop general knowledge, to convey theoretical studies background and form necessary for independent work professional skills. University degree programs are oriented towards universal basic of education, academic preparation and the highest level of professional skills.

Bachelor’s degree:

  • Materials and nanotechnologies
  • Material Physics and Nanotechnologies
  • Applied physics

Master’s degree:

  • Applied Physics
  • Materials Science
  • Medical Physics

Research groups:

  • Research of Non-equilibrium Heterogeneous Processes prof. habil. dr. Arvaidas Galdikas, Principal Investigator
  • Radiation and Medical Physics prof. dr. Diana Adlienė, Principal Investigator
  • Formation, Research and Application of Multifunctional Thin Structures and Nanocomposites prof. dr. Giedrius Laukaitis, Principal Investigator
  • Applied Optics and Photonics lekt. dr. Tomas Tamulevičius, Principal Investigator

History of Physics Department (1990-2018)

The First Graduate students of Physics Master Program (1995-06-27)

The Supreme Council declared the restoration of Lithuania Act on March 11, 1990. Reorganization of different institutions was held after Lithuania regained independence. Lithuanian higher education institutions were not left besides historical events. Movement group was also established at Kaunas Polytechnic Institute, where actively participated the employees of the Department of Physics: Doc. A. Tamašauskas, researcher A. Meškauskas, senior lecturer A. Žiulpa, researcher dr. A. Batulevičius and others. Researcher of integrated circuits laboratory at Physics Department Dr. A. Batulevičius was elected to the first Kaunas City Council, supported by the Movement in April 13, 1990.

Contacts

Lena Gertrūda Cibulskytė
Administrator

Studentų str. 50–243 kab., Kaunas
phone: 8 37 300 339
mobile: +370 619 42 426
mgmf.fk@ktu.lt , lena.cibulskyte@ktu.lt

 

Staff

Prof. Giedrius Laukaitis

Head of Department

Studentų str. 50-244, Kaunas
phone: +370 (37) 300 340
e-mail: giedrius.laukaitis@ktu.lt

Professors

Name / Surname Adress Phone E-mail
prof. dr. Diana Adlienė Studentų str. 50-251 kab. +370 612 08716 diana.adliene@ktu.lt
prof. habil. dr. Arvaidas Galdikas Studentų str. 50–264 kab. +370 616 54520 arvaidas.galdikas@ktu.lt
prof. dr. Giedrius Laukaitis Studentų str. 50–243 kab. +370 37 300 340 giedrius.laukaitis@ktu.lt
prof. dr. Liutauras Marcinauskas Studentų str. 50–249 kab. +370 611 17031 liutauras.marcinauskas@ktu.lt
prof. habil. dr. Sigitas Tamulevičius Studentų str. 50–243 kab. +370 686 12300 sigitas.tamulevicius@ktu.lt
prof. dr. Audrius Alkauskas Studentų str. 50-256 b kab. audrius.alkauskas@ktu.lt
prof. dr. Žilvinas Rinkevičius Studentų str. 50–260 kab. zilvinas.rinkevicius@ktu.lt
prof. dr. Artūras Vailionis Studentų str. 50–243 kab. arturas.vailionis@ktu.lt

Professors emeritus

Name / Surname Adress Phone E-mail
prof. habil. dr. Julius Dudonis Studentų str. 50-116 kab. +370 612 55684 julius.dudonis@ktu.lt
prof. habil. dr. Alfonsas Grigonis Studentų str. 50–115 kab. +370 616 28795

Associate Professors

Name / Surname Adress Phone E-mail
assoc. prof.  Brigita Abakevičienė Studentų str. 50-229 kab. +370 686 07546 brigita.abakeviciene@ktu.lt
assoc. prof.  Mindaugas Andrulevičius Studentų str. 50–259 kab. +370 687 80481 mindaugas.andrulevicius@ktu.lt
assoc. prof.  Jurgita Čyvienė Studentų str. 50–229 kab. +370 620 23695 jurgita.cyviene@ktu.lt
assoc. prof. Aleksandras Iljinas Studentų str. 50–258 kab. +370 615 23668 aleksandras.iljinas@ktu.lt
assoc. prof.  Leonas Jakevičius Studentų str. 50–227 kab. +370 618 68466 leonas.jakevičius@ktu.lt
assoc. prof.  Sigitas Joneliūnas Studentų str. 50–227 kab. +370 615 62671 sigitas.joneliunas@ktu.lt
assoc. prof.  Alvydas Jotautis Studentų str. 50–239 kab. +370 672 33852 alvydas.jotautis@ktu.lt
assoc. prof.  Saulius Mickevičius Studentų str. 50–248 kab. +370 605 26384 saulius.mickevicius@ktu.lt
assoc. prof. Ramūnas Naujokaitis Studentų str. 50–239 kab. +370 614 03249 ramunas.naujokaitis@ktu.lt
assoc. prof. Judita Puišo Studentų str. 50–227 kab. +370 610 04812 judita.puiso@ktu.lt
assoc. prof.  Linas Puodžiukynas Studentų str. 50–259 kab. +370 698 24161 linas.puodziukynas@ktu.lt
assoc. prof.  Živilė Rutkūnienė Studentų str. 50–249 kab. +370 686 54543 zivile.rutkuniene@ktu.lt
assoc. prof.  Vytautas Stankus Studentų str. 50–258 kab. +370 610 33946 vytautas.stankus@ktu.lt
assoc. prof. Virgilijus Minialga Studentų str. 50–227 kab. +370 616 28503 virgilijus.minialga@ktu.lt
assoc. prof. Gediminas Stankūnas Breslaujos str. 3-249 kab. +370 401800 gediminas.stankunas@ktu.lt

Lecturers

Name / Surname Adress Phone E-mail
dr. Kristina Bočkutė Studentų str. 50-248 kab. kristina.bockute@ktu.lt
dr. Karolis Gedvilas Studentų str. 50–256 b kab. +370 618 38221 karolis.gedvilas@ktu.lt
dr. Marius Kaminskas Studentų str. 50–256 b kab. +370 676 32308 marius.kaminskas@ktu.lt
dr. Rimantas Knizikevičius Studentų str. 50–228 kab. +370 685 24054 rimantas.knizikevicius@ktu.lt
dr. Teresa Moskaliovienė Studentų str. 50–264 kab. +370 674 02556 teresa.moskalioviene@ktu.lt
Asta Tamulevičienė Studentų str. 50 +370 37 313 432 asta.tamuleviciene@ktu.lt
Tomas Tamulevičius Studentų str. 50 +370 662 26308 tomas.tamulevicius@ktu.lt
dr. Darius Virbukas Studentų str. 50–248 kab. +370 656 39789 darius.virbukas@ktu.lt
dr. Mantas Sriubas Studentų str. 50–260 kab. mantas.sriubas@ktu.lt

Guest lecturers

Name / Surname Adress E-mail
prof. Mimura Hidenori Studentų str. 50–243 kab.
assoc. prof.  Ramūnas Naujokaitis Studentų str. 50–243 kab. ramunas.naujokaitis@ktu.lt
assoc. prof.  Alvydas Jotautis Studentų str. 50–243 kab. alvydas.jotautis@ktu.lt
assoc. prof.  Sigitas Joneliūnas Studentų str. 50–243 kab. sigitas.joneliunas@ktu.lt
assoc. prof.  Gediminas Stankūnas Studentų str. 50–243 kab. gediminas.stankunas@ktu.lt
assoc. prof. Karolis Gedvilas Studentų str. 50–243 kab. karolis.gedvilas@ktu.lt

Administration

Name / Surname Pareigos Adress Phone El-mail
Lena Gertrūda Cibulskytė Administrator Studentų str. 50–243 kab. +370 619 42426 lena.cibulskyte@ktu.lt
Roma Špokienė Administrator Studentų str. 50–228 kab. +370 696 26038 roma.spokiene@ktu.lt
Zenonas Šleinius Academic Assistant / Laboratory Assistant Studentų str. 50–231 kab. +370 614 76103 zenonas.sleinius@ktu.lt
We are using cookies to provide statistics that help us give you the best experience of our site. You can find out more or switch them off if you prefer. However, by continuing to use the site without changing settings, you are agreeing to our use of cookies.
Sutinku